'86 Rabbit

A FANGirl's Forkstress of Solitude

Why Rosalie Doesn’t Suck

**Moved from original blog**
**Breaking Dawn spoilers**

October 13, 2008 at 10:03 pm ’86 Rabbit
Why Rosalie Doesn’t Suck

Ok, so she’s not my favorite Cullen either, but she’s not a bad person. Honestly, the only person she’s unpleasant to is Bella, and that’s only in comparison to the other Cullens who all dote on Bella whenever possible.

Apparently Rosalie has never quite gotten over Edward not being attracted to her, despite having a great guy of her own in Emmett. Be honest, don’t you have even one petty thing that you’ve had a really hard time letting go of? Aren’t you flattered when guys notice you? Aren’t you even a little threatened by guys who are prettier than you? Ok, maybe it’s hard to admit. We’re raised to be modest, even self-deprecating. Look at is this way. Bella describes Rosalie as the most beautiful woman in the world. When even other people see you that way, is it really conceit to admit it to yourself? And then what if you are turned into a vampire and are that much more beautiful?

Now, what if that’s the only strength you were allowed to have? That’s what makes me feel for Rosalie. She was born in a time that wasn’t kind to women. To make matters worse her parents were social climbers who traded on their daughter’s beauty to bring them more wealth and prestige. So Rosalie learned to use her beauty and feminine wiles to get what she wants out of life. It’s really just another kind of power, really. We all use what power we have. It’s a shame her parents didn’t put any stock in any of her other gifts. She may have turned out a little more well-rounded.

Now, I know you love Edward and Jasper. I do too, but shall we compare their “records” to Rosalie’s? You know they haven’t been nearly as good at living Carlisle’s lifestyle as Rosalie has. Sure she’s killed 7 people, but not for food. She did that out of revenge for what they did to her. Not only did they violate her, but they left her for dead, and on top of that she was made a vampire against her will because of it. I think she’s earned the right to be a little crabby here. Have you never wondered what you’d do to someone who’d attacked you if you had the strength? Ok, ok, so revenge isn’t the only reason she’d kill. She was going to kill Bella, but that was to keep her family out of trouble, to protect the life they’d built.

Family is very important to Rosalie. She would have given up all that she had to be human and have a human family. Until that time, she has the Cullens and she would do anything to protect them. Cold and calculating, sure, but not a bad person to have on your side. She just doesn’t happen to be on Bella’s side most of the time.

Still, doesn’t she help Alice dress Bella, and do her hair and make-up? That’s pretty sisterly behavior. Sure, she once had a little snit and wouldn’t get Bella dressed in new clothes really fast so they could make their escape, but what sister doesn’t have the occasional snit about clothes-sharing? And you might ask yourself how you’d feel if your sister of 50 years or so suddenly preferred hanging out with a new girl who seemed intent on becoming the very thing you would give anything not to be. I think I might feel like I was being replaced, and resent it just a little. I think I’d do the best I could, for the sake of my family’s well-being, but I might have a snit now and then.

No matter what Rosalie may have done or may have wanted to do, all goes out the window as far as I’m concerned the moment she pitted herself against the rest of the family to help Bella save Renesmee. Any hard feelings I may have harbored are only due to my being “a Bella,” and if Bella can forgive her, so can I.

So there you have it:
1. The most beautiful woman in the world.
2. A “record” second only to Carlisle’s. The girl’s got some morals.
3. A fierce protector of family. She will kill for you or just do your hair in a pinch.
4. Oh yeah, and she’s the best mechanic in the family. There’s a story in there somewhere. Why would she ever think to get her hands dirty when she could get a boy to do it? This is not the behavior of a completely shallow girl.

There are worse things to be than “a Rosalie.” You could be a Lauren, or worse, a Jessica.

October 15, 2008 at 2:39 pm kellyq
You KNOW that I was going to have some kind of response to this post…so here goes. I adore the Cullens- each of them have their own special quirks and talents and overall, they are genuinely ‘good’ vampires. What baffles me about Rose specifically, is that I cannot find one redeemingly good quality about her- everything with her is selfishly motivated.

Case in point- Emmett. She changed him into a vampire because he reminded her of her friend Vera’s little boy- whom she longed for. And even though she has a solid relationship with Emmett she STILL resents Edward for not wanting her, and continues to resent Bella throughout the entire series for many ridiculous reasons, the most offensive being that she doesn’t care if Bella lives or dies through childbirth as long as a there is a baby for Rose to have.

Every action and word spoke can be traced back to her selfish character…so it’s hard for me to understand how she even fits in with the Cullen family. Yes, she is beautiful but really…who cares about that? What’s the point in being beautiful on the outside if you’re not beautiful on the inside?

In closing…what you wrote was interesting and it gave me a new perspective for Rose, but I STILL can’t bring myself to like her the way I like the other Cullens.

October 15, 2008 at 2:42 pm kellyq
One more thing- I REALLY love your Twilight analyses…keep them up, they are fascinating to read!

October 15, 2008 at 9:12 pm ’86 Rabbit
Thanks, KQ. I love writing this kind of thing, obviously. I’ll write when I can, but if you have a topic or a puzzle to solve, let me know. I don’t write something like this unless inspired.

Yep, Rose is selfish, but again understandably so. Her life, and afterlife have been driven solely by other people’s selfishness. Her parents used her, thus teaching her the virtues of being selfish. Carlisle saved her because he considered it a waste for her to die. They were acquaintences, but not close at all by the sound of it. Carlisle, in this case, seems to have been a doctor who couldn’t bear to lose a patient to something so senseless, so he turned her into a vampire against her will. Now in the three days she was screaming and begging not to live, I don’t think that the Hippocratic Oath really applied. I mean, she was dead already, really. He could have stopped her transformation and allowed her to rest in peace. Selfishness on his part forced Rosalie to live a “life” that after all this time she really doesn’t want to live.

Or she doesn’t think she does anyway. I hope that we get to see some point in the future that shows her happy with her afterlife. She may not get to be a Mom without adopting a child, but she is already a kick ass aunt.

I think we were already seeing this by the end of Breaking Dawn. Yes, she was all about saving the baby, but that’s why Bella went to her for help. She knew that out of everyone in the world Rose was uniquely qualified to be her second in this particular battle; she was the only one who would protect Renesmee with the same maternal ferocity that Bella herself would.

After Renesmee was born Rose took her and cared for her, as I’m sure she and Bella agreed to, until Bella was turned. She then protected Renesmee from Bella, again as I’m sure they agreed to, because Bella herself was convinced she’d be an uncontrollable blood-thirsty monster for a couple of years. It turned out not to be necessary, and I think we see some hurt feelings on Rose’s part when she makes comments about Nessie only wanting her mother. Can you blame her when you think about it? She thought she’d get to be a mom for maybe a couple years until Bella could control herself. She only got a little over 2 days. You have to admit she steps into the role of aunt with more grace than you’d expect of her when you look at it in this light.

So, no, definitely not the most lovable Cullen, but she doesn’t suck. She’s a very interesting character.

Ugh. Bedtime again. I’m really not cut out for work.

February 11, 2009 - Posted by | Breaking Dawn, Stephenie Meyer, Twi-Media, Twilight | , , , , , , ,

11 Comments »

  1. I really enjoyed this post! I’m totally with you on the whole revenge thing. Like I said before, I would have done the same thing, no problem.

    I really like your character analysis’s as well, and thanks for checking out our blog!

    Comment by jonettecullen | February 16, 2009 | Reply

  2. i really liked this post, it’s food for thought. i don’t like rose. with the exception of that time when emmett got into a line skirmish with the wolves and she came to his defense (this was told to Bella by jacob, i think), i don’t really see anything redeeming about rose. she doesn’t appear to have much of a relationship with alice and they’re sisters. i would not like her as a human or as a vampire. and her behavior in the last book, protecting Bella was annoying. her intentions were not to protect Bella, she had an ulterior motive.

    Comment by lpham12 | February 19, 2009 | Reply

  3. Unfortunately for Rosalie, when you are turned into a vampire you are sort of stuck in your mindset unless something significantt happens, like meeting you mate, to help change you, and then that change is lasting. So she will always be selfish and vain, but I think meeting Emmett did her some good. I think that’s ultimately why she took up auto-mechanics. I think that she probably wanted to do something more physical that would not only help her relate to Emmett but help the family. I think she wanted to contribute.

    We’ll never know though, because it’s all told from Bella’s point of view and she steers clear of Rose mostly. I’d really, really, really like to know more about Rose through Edward’s point of view….Please, Steph?!? 🙂

    Comment by '86 Rabbit | February 19, 2009 | Reply

  4. I actually like Rosalie. Especially when she and Jacob fights…. LOL @ Breaking Dawn. I like the ‘DINO’ part. So funny.

    Comment by Moo-san | February 21, 2009 | Reply

  5. I never hated her like many do. I think she provided a much needed perspective in the books. She was great in Breaking Dawn. The dog dish was definitely fun…especially when Jacob threw it at her.

    Comment by '86 Rabbit | February 25, 2009 | Reply

  6. Wow. I never thought of Rosalie like that. She’s not my favorite Cullen either and I did start to feel a little better towards her in BD, but I still didn’t like her in a way. Lol. But that observation is deep and I like it a lot. Thank you.

    Comment by artisticphilosopher | March 1, 2009 | Reply

  7. No, thank you!

    Comment by '86 Rabbit | March 2, 2009 | Reply

  8. thanks for stikin up for my sisster
    -edward-

    Comment by tigerfang | March 15, 2009 | Reply

  9. It was my pleasure. Thanks for dropping by, Edward.

    Comment by '86 Rabbit | March 15, 2009 | Reply

  10. What a great and different perspective on Rosalie. I love what you wrote. You make her seem much less one dimensional than she seems on the surface. Thanks so much for sharing this with me. 🙂

    Comment by Spank Ransom | March 24, 2009 | Reply

  11. Thanks, Spank!

    Comment by '86 Rabbit | March 24, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

