'86 Rabbit

A FANGirl's Forkstress of Solitude

KStew Is The Other Woman

A few month ago, Robert Pattinson was being painted in the media as someone on the verge of a break-down thanks to all the attention he was getting from fans and the media. He was scorned for not playing nice, or for freaking out “unnecessarily” over fears of getting stabbed or shot. When I first started watching all the fan vids and blogs in summer of 2008, it seemed like Kristen Stewart was definitely the more cooperative of the two. They seem to have reversed roles. These two articles were posted the same day. They show Kristen in a very poor light and Rob as the very professional and very cooperative darling.

Kristen Stewart: ‘I’ve Thought About Quitting Twilight.’
By Adam, March 3 2009
Kristen Stewart

Kristen Stewart says it would be “so easy” for her not to appear in anymore Twilight films.

The 18-year-old actress – who is due to reprise her role as Bella Swan alongside Robert Pattinson (Edward Cullen) in Twilight sequel New Moon – says she’d drop out of the popular movie franchise to send hundreds of teenage girls into a “frenzy”.

She explains, “I’ve totally had the thought; it would be so easy for me to send so many hundreds of girls into such a frenzy by saying I want no part of any future [Twilight] movies.

“It took a long time for me to admit that I was too bogged down by the first book, to admit to these girls that I wasn’t as… I’m just as obsessed as they are; I read it from an entirely different perspective and had to live it for three months.

“Yeah, I have thought, many times. “What could I do?” It’d be so easy.”

Not a very nice portrayal. Remember, questions were asked. The writer chooses not to let us know what those questions were, though, so we don’t really know what the context of her statements were. This interview is the equivalent of a sound bite, and we all know how damning those can be.

Robert Pattinson: ‘I Connected With Kristen Stewart’
By Adam, March 3 2009
Robert Pattinson

Robert Pattinson believes he landed his starring role in Twilight because of his connection with costar Kristen Stewart.

The British actor plays vampire Edward Cullen in the smash hit movie franchise.

And Pattinson is adamant it was his inability to be “Prince Charming” during his audition for Twilight that got him his part in the film.

He explains, “I was one of the last people they saw.

“I just went in and I had a connection with Kristen. I think it was because I so expected it to be different to how it turned out and expected the girl who played Bella to be so different to Kristen, that I was so genuinely shocked when she did her performance.

“I just thought it was going to be a real damsel in distress actress. And I couldn’t pretend to be the Prince Charming to some dippy girl! Not that that is how the book is.

“But I thought that was how the film would turn out. And of course Kristen is tough, smart and a good actress, and so it completely changed my opinion and so I ended up playing him as a kind of a wreck. That was how that happened.”

Pattinson and Stewart reprise their roles as Edward and Bella, respectively, in Twilight sequel New Moon, which is due out later this year.

When I watched the Comic-Con interview and the MTV Twilight Tuesdays interviews I got a definite Sally Field, “You like me, you really like me,” vibe from both of them. Rob seemed a little put off by the attention, I think mostly due to all the squealing girls mobbing him. You have to admit, if that SQUEE were directed at you, you would be intimidated to say the least. Kristen seemed to be shy about the attention. She often deflected the attention to someone else, but generally cooperative.

It wasn’t until the Hot Topic tour that I started to notice another Kristen taking shape. Early interviews I read showed me a girl that was hurt that her fans were turning on her. I saw many interviews in which either Kristen or other actors on the tour noted that girls were saying, “We’re not here for you. We’re here for Rob,” to Kristen. If it were me, I would not have known what to make of this and I would have been hurt. Here I am playing Bella, the main character, the narrator, and the fans hate me?

It’s very unfortunate for Kristen that the books were labeled as Young Adult fiction. That makes Bella’s fanbase 11-19 year-olds. As readers they can picture themselves as Bella, having an epic romance with Edward, and flirting on the side with Jacob. It’s a very personal experience for them. As movie-goers, these 11-19 year-olds transform into something else–tweens and teens. I’m sure you’re aware, tween and teens can be, well, not so nice. Suddenly someone very real and physical will be playing Bella. They can no longer picture themselves as Bella. Someone else will be kissing their Edward. That makes Kristen Stewart The Other Woman.

In the months since the Hot Topic tour we’ve seen a different Kristen in the news. She’s now a pot-smoking, sullen, fan-hating, indie-snob who is so over Hollywood she could die. I think some of this might be her, but I think a lot of it is how the media approach her. I am sure that she’s angry and bitter about how supposed Twilight fans have treated her. If she’s anything like me, and I suspect she is, she’ll have a hard time not showing that in interviews. The media has a choice in where to lead the interviews though. I believe a large part of Kristen Stewart’s new image is the media turning her into a harpy. Why would they do this? Well, it sells. They are now writing down to the fans–11-19 year-olds.

What happens when a man cheats? Well, we are mad at the man at first (Rob was scorned for being afraid of the fans), but then that is too painful. We don’t want to blame our man; we love him. So we turn our fury on The Other Woman. And behold a star is born a pot-smoking-sullen-fan-hating-indie-snob-who-is-so-over-Hollywood-she-could-die is born.

March 5, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Excellent perception- I completely agree! I started out adoring Kristen Stewart- she seemed spot-on in her analysis of Bella, while Rob seemed out of sorts… Their roles have completely reversed.

    And while I’m trying to give Kristen a second chance, simply because her neurotic portrayal in New Moon is so crucial, I can’t help but think that she’s hanging on by a string with the entire fandom…

    Comment by boobunnies | March 5, 2009 | Reply

  2. You’re right and Kristen Stewart is in a bad light and that was very unprofessional of her but I guess I would go crazy or be let down if people showed up not for me and looked at me in a negative way when I’m just trying to do my job; play a role of someone that is loved by a lot of people but they would misunderstood who I am for the person I would be playing.

    Understood but she didn’t have to say that. It really made her look bad.
    And why does she smoke anyway? Did the pressure and the fans drive her to it?

    Why does anyone smoke anyway? Ugh.

    Comment by artisticphilosopher | March 5, 2009 | Reply

  3. This is such a great post. I totally agree with you on the way the fans feel about Kristen. They are jealous of her, meanwhile she is jealous of all the positive attention the other members of the cast are receiving.

    Anyway, just dropping by to say hey!

    Comment by jonettecullen | March 8, 2009 | Reply

  4. I really thought I’d get flamed here. Thank you all for dropping by!

    Comment by '86 Rabbit | March 8, 2009 | Reply

  5. […] on ya, Kristen Previously I wrote that Kristen is being treated like The Other Woman. I think she’s reached the point in that particular drama when she’s thought about […]

    Pingback by Good on ya, Kristen « ‘86 Rabbit | March 17, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

