'86 Rabbit

A FANGirl's Forkstress of Solitude

Volturi Casting

Relax, this isn’t anything official. These are just my picks. I know, I know, I should have made a video for YouTube like everyone else does. I’ll be honest. I don’t know how to made one of those. Gimme a break. I’m old. I have looked at YouTube vids though, and I’ve found a whole lot of Ben Barnes out there. Twilighters seem to unanimously want him to be in New Moon in some Voluturi capacity, mostly as Demetri. I like him as Aro, but what do I know? I know I’d like to hear him speak a whole lot more than Demetri does. I know that!

Since Summit decided on young Dakota Fanning for Jane, I’m going to assume they are going to try to keep as many vampires as possible within the reader demographic even those whose ages aren’t really assigned in the books. They seem intent on rushing these films to screen so I don’t suppose aging vampires will be a problem. “Bring on the eye candy!” seems to be what they are going for. With that in mind, here are my picks. Eh, screw it. I’ll post my “old vampire” picks with the “eye candy”. Of course any of these vampires could be unknowns, but what fun would casting be then?

Picks and pics after the jump.

Aro

Ben Barnes 

 Viggo Mortensen

 

Caius

Ben Foster

 Paul Bettany

 

Marcus can be an unknown because he really doesn’t speak. He just needs to be able to look somewhat imposing and very bored.

 

Alec

 Max Thieriot

I’ll refrain from choosing an older Alec since he’s supposed to look like he could be Jane‘s twin and Jane has already been cast. Congrats again, Dakota!

Felix

 Channing Tatum

If they go with an older Felix, they can pick an unknown. I imagine they won’t have Felix speaking much. They could pick an unknown for the younger version too, but Channing is fun to look at, don’t you think?

Demetri

 Gaspard Ulliel

Please, if there is a God, cast Gaspard as a vampire at some point in this series. I don’t know what got Twilighters so set on him playing someone, anyone, in Twilight, but I think if he’s not cast soon there may be rioting.  Again, I won’t bother picking an older version for the same reasons I stated when speaking of Felix.

Heidi

 AnnaLynne McCord

As much as I fear another (sorry!) “vampy” role might kill her career, is there any better fishing lure than AnnaLynne McCord? She really should have played Rosalie. I’m sure we can all get over her not having mahogany tresses, not that anyone is going to see past the leather or whatever form-fitting fabric she wears. I don’t think Summit could afford an older actress of such beauty. It would have to be Charlize Theron.

 Charlize Theron

Gianna

 Camilla Belle

I’ve seen a few casting vids asking for Tyra Banks. She sure is dark skinned and beautiful, but I’m going to assume that Gianna should be younger. I’d fear for Gianna’s continued health if she got to be Tyra’s age (not that she’s old!) and the vampires hadn’t decided to keep her yet. Besides with a name like Gianna I think dark skinned means in comparison to the vampires. She is most likely Italian.

I don’t think anyone else will be cast for New Moon but I may be wrong. Let me know if I missed anyone.

 

(All photos thanks to IMDB.com)

March 23, 2009 - Posted by | Actors, Essays, New Moon, Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 Comments »

  1. Apparently Canadian supermodel Noot Seear has won the role of Heidi. I think she looks very much the part!

    http://www.eonline.com/uberblog/marc_malkin/b106081_new_moon_scoop_heidi_supermodel.html

    Comment by '86 Rabbit | March 25, 2009 | Reply

  2. I am TOTALLY in agreement with you that they really, really REALLY need to cast Gaspard Ulliel at some point. Not that I haven’t become attached to all the actors that already have established roles in Twilight, but he could have been cast already (just sayin’) in a role or two, and they need to find a home for him in the future movie. Please. : )

    Comment by Snarkier Than You | March 26, 2009 | Reply

  3. Dear Powers That Be,

    See what I mean?

    ♥Rabbit

    🙂

    Comment by '86 Rabbit | March 28, 2009 | Reply

  4. Ok, that’s the second time those pictures disappeared. I’m not re-doing it again. *sigh*

    Comment by '86 Rabbit | March 28, 2009 | Reply

  5. This blog’s great!! Thanks :).

    Comment by matt | March 28, 2009 | Reply

  6. […] say YAY (OK so I picked him for Felix, but YAY someone else is thinking he’d make a good […]

    Pingback by Channing Tatum as Riley « ‘86 Rabbit’s Forkstress of Solitude | April 29, 2009 | Reply

  7. Excellent site, keep up the good work

    Comment by Bill Bartmann | September 2, 2009 | Reply

  8. Just wanted to drop you a line to say, I enjoy reading your site. I thought about starting a blog myself but don’t have the time.
    Oh well maybe one day…. 🙂

    Comment by Donnieboy | October 12, 2009 | Reply

  9. Hey guys, nice to be here! I love 86rabbit.wordpress.com!

    Comment by ocameredesupraveghere | March 23, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

