'86 Rabbit

A FANGirl's Forkstress of Solitude

Closeted Unicorn?

I accused OMB of secretly reading Twilight last night. He of course admits nothing. Here’s what happened. You decide.

Last night we went to see Monsters vs Aliens (In 3-D! So fun!). When we got home the following exchange occurred.

OMB: Oh I forgot to tell you. When I went to get our Cokes the guy’s name tag said Jasper H.

Me: (staring dumbfounded, thinking, “Kudos to him for recognizing the name Jasper, but too bad it didn’t say Jasper C,” then, “Wait, H is perfect! Wait! How did he know that?!?) I don’t think that’s his real name.

OMB: I don’t think the theater would let them use ficticious names.

Me: (gathering my wits about me) You’re reading Twilight aren’t you!

OMB: No.

Me: Well then how…

OMB: …did I know that Jasper’s last name is Hale? They said it in the movie.

Me: They did? And you just happened to pick up the one time they may have mentioned it? I don’t think they mentioned it.

OMB: Well maybe I picked it up from one of the extras on the DVD.

Me: (questioning look) And you just picked it up from that?

OMB: I’m not reading Twilight.

March 28, 2009 - Posted by | Essays, Twilight, Twilighters | , , , , , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. He’s totally a unicorn. A closeted one.

    Comment by Pillow Biter | March 28, 2009 | Reply

  2. What about “Jasper W” i would have asked him about it!!

    i had a friend in HS whose name was jasper and it now officially wigs me out!

    Comment by themoonisdown | March 28, 2009 | Reply

  3. I feel un-cool, because I don’t know what OMB stands for, lol, but he’s LYING – they never differentiate between the Hales and the Cullens in the movie! You were correct – it isn’t mentioned!

    MYSTERY AND INTRIGUE – get him out of the closet!

    Comment by Jordan | March 28, 2009 | Reply

  4. HA! I think you are on to something… Either he’s very VERY observant or he’s secretly come over to the dark side – lol… I’m actually actively lobbying for my DH to read the book. Although he probably won’t get it and then he’ll think I am even more nuts for being obsessed than he already does…

    Comment by Snarkier Than You | March 30, 2009 | Reply

  5. OMB=Old Man Bobby. He’s my steadman, or at least he will be once I write my book and become Oprah-rich.

    I went to a Twilight party on Saturday and told the girls about what OMB said. When we got to the part where Jessica points out all the Cullens everyone went, “Nope! They don’t mention the Hales! He’s a Unicorn!”

    Comment by '86 Rabbit | March 31, 2009 | Reply

  6. LOL, I thought of my boyfriend when I read this. He remembers stuff like that all the time! He watched Twilight with the commentary with me and he laughed with me and swore they were all high when they did the commentary! LOL….

    Weird how they can do that huh….

    Comment by .:[TEAMspunk/ransom]:. | March 31, 2009 | Reply

  7. Yes, it is absolutely weird what boyfriends will hear, and what they won’t. 🙂

    Comment by '86 Rabbit | March 31, 2009 | Reply

  8. nope. i just watched the movie for the second day in a row, and i watched the commentary AND the special features today. they never once say hale.

    Comment by uberfangirl | April 1, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

