'86 Rabbit

A FANGirl's Forkstress of Solitude

Thoughts On The New Moon Cast

I’ve been mulling this over for a few days now. Here’s where I am so far.

Michael Sheen as Aro – Ok, yeah. Why not. I really hope he isn’t getting paid what amounts to about $7.3M for it because that means he’s either seriously overpaid or Aro is in more than one or two scenes. Or it could be what he’s getting paid to appear in any future Twilight films, too. Still too much, if you ask me, but it would make me feel better. Or maybe we see him in the form of Alice’s visions, as well as actual scenes. Still seems like too much. Anyway, Michael Sheen is great in everything he does (I have not seen Rise of the Lycans, mind you). Really great.  I hope everyone doing scenes with him is up to the task. You can expect that he’ll steal the scene, but for Aro to really be as creepy as he needs to be the others around him will need to react accordingly.

Dakota Fanning as Jane – I’ve said it before. I’ll say it again. I think she’ll be great. She’ll do a lot for the movie, and I hope the movie does a lot for her. We’ll get a little dose of Bad Dakota to ease us into her adult roles.

Daniel Cudmore as Felix – Bella described him as, “very big, tall and thick.” She compared him to Emmett. Anyone who could play Colossus in the Marvel universe definitely fits the bill. I’m sure he’ll be appropriately menacing.

Charlie Bewley as Demetri – I have no information on Charlie, but then we hardly have any info on Demetri either. And Charlie is awfully nice to look at so Thumbs Up, for now.

Christopher Heyerdahl as Marcus – He looks familiar to me but looking at IMDB I don’t see anything of his I would have seen except 21 Jump Street. So, I don’t have much to go on here either. I’m sure he’ll be fine at standing there and looking bored, if somewhat scary.

Noot Seear as Heidi– She is certainly gorgeous and statuesque enough.

Graham Greene as Harry Clearwater – Yea! I love him in everything he does. If he couldn’t play Billy Black (he’s who I pictured) I’m glad we’ll see him as Harry. I know he’ll bring new depth to Harry. Now if we could just get Tantoo Cardinal for Sue Clearwater!

Cameron Bright as Alec – Truly chilling. Did you see this kid in Birth? It was weeks before I got the creepiness off me. This might be the best casting choice from the new cast list.

April 18, 2009 - Posted by | Actors, Essays, New Moon | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. To tell you the truth, I am very disappointed with Chris’s choice for the part of Aro and Caius. I’m not really focused on Marcus but he could have done better, I’ll tell you. I am actually outraged (I mean OUTRAGED) especially for his choice for Aro. I thought Ben Barnes would’ve been an excellent choice for Aro but I wasn’t sure on Caius or Marcus. I was expecting someone younger… It’s hard to see Michael playing Aro and imagining Jamie Campbell-Bower as Caius!

    Is that true!? Jamie Campbell-Bower from Sweeny Todd is playing Caius of all people!?

    As I look at it, Michael as Aro and Jamie as Caius together don’t look so good. Marcus isn’t really a big deal in the picture of New Moon so I’m not really focused on him.

    But to get to the point… I’m very disappointed. I wonder how other fans must feel. Like it or hate it?

    Comment by artisticphilosopher | April 18, 2009 | Reply

  2. Not to mention (unless they make Michael look younger or NOT like they made him look in Rise of the Lycans) if you look at Aro (Michael) next to Jane (Dakota)… it makes it look like Aro is a PHEDOPHILE!

    I know this is JUST A MOVIE and New Moon is JUST A BOOK but I can’t help but be disappointed and to be straightforward and to say something like I just said but it’s my opinion.

    Comment by artisticphilosopher | April 18, 2009 | Reply

  3. OMG Cameron Bright does fit Alec perfectly!
    Shy

    Comment by shyshy6510 | April 18, 2009 | Reply

  4. Honestly I was a bit bothered that all the vamps were going to be young. And then when Dakota was cast I saw how young the rest of the Volturi could possibly be. I think having a mix of ages is cool. It’ll show some diversity of background.

    Age is always an interesting concept when you are talking about vampires. You can have a 1000 year old vampire who was turned at 15 and you can have a 10 year old vampire who was turned at 51. Who is the elder? Does it matter? Will the one who has been a vampire longer respect the wisdom of the vampire who lived longer as a human? Can the one who lived longer as a human accept the authority of a whipper-snapper who just happens to have walked the Earth for 1000 years?

    I think going with an older actor for Aro will give most everyone in the audience an immediate sense of who is in charge, which could be important with limited scenes involving the Volturi. It might be harder for a younger actor to command such a presence as Aro has, especially in the time allowed to film.

    As for Aro looking like a pedophile, he’s supposed to make us uncomfortable, so yeah, I think this is another good could. Because of the people picked to play the Volturi, the audience will have an instant psychological disliking, maybe without even realizing why because most of them will not have been overanalyzing like we are. 🙂

    But as for him actually being a pedophile, I think that it goes back to the interesting age issues vampire always present. I think in most vampire ‘verses the vamps care more about the “undead age” than the “physical age”. I don’t believe Aro would have cared at all about Jane’s age, as opposed to an actual pedophile who is attracted to someone because of his/her extreme youth.

    Comment by '86 Rabbit | April 19, 2009 | Reply

  5. I’m agreeing with you majorly, thumbs way up on Aro, Jane, Alec and Harry especially!! As for Felix and Demetri… I feel like I’m going to have to buy this movie dinner so I can take advantage of it. Holy crap, guys. I never thought I’d say this, but it might be possible for a movie to have too much hotness.
    Ok, I take that back. But I do think this level of hot might require a rating change.

    Comment by etomyb | April 19, 2009 | Reply

  6. I do grasp the fact that the Volturi are supposed to be older since they all have wives and I know that Aro isn’t really a pedophile but I know Aro probably looks at Jane like a daughter or something but it is creepy in a way when Aro mentions his whole “collection” thing… I was reading a part of New Moon where Aro is first introduced and I was looking for his description and the reason I freaked out was because Aro is supposed to be extremely beautiful like any vampire but enough that Bella has a horrifying feeling to touch his cheek. So he’s gotta be creepy but beautiful. I know Michael Sheen is a great actor and he looks OK for his age but he’s not really extremely beautiful… not even offscreen.

    I do know that Jamie is not a kid but he LOOKS like a kid so I was worried about him being Caius cause Caius seems like second in command and he’s a big mouth (Breaking Dawn? Hello?) but he’s also very sly and sneaky I guess so I don’t see Jamie pulling that off. In a way I do but I was expecting someone older. Like all of the Volturi should be.

    I have to cut this short cause I need to get back to class but I look forward to new opinions.

    Comment by artisticphilosopher | April 20, 2009 | Reply

  7. @etomyb To quote Jessica: “I know, right?!?”

    @AP I guess we’ll just have to wait and see. Let’s trust in good ol’ movie magic. Maybe we’ll be surprised at how well it turns out.

    Comment by '86 Rabbit | April 20, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

