'86 Rabbit

A FANGirl's Forkstress of Solitude

Feminist Male College Graduate: Chapter 2

This is fun. Mr. Benjamin Wheeler has finished Chapter 2 of Twilight and has graciously blogged about it already.  I don’t know if there will be much room for discussion on my part this chapter as I agree with just about everything here. Let’s see how it goes. Sometimes I surprise myself. I am a wordy girl after all.

I think a tempting way to read this is with Charlie filling the role of the undomesticated male, and Bella filling the role of the domesticated woman, but I think that’s unnecessarily reductive.

I agree with you here; it is tempting. I think that is a huge reason why so many people are so willing to label The Twilight Saga as sexist, or as having set the feminist movement back decades. The sad part about that for me is that these people seem to think that being a housewife or stay-at-home mom is a bad thing. Personally, I think the feminist movement is about having choices, options. If it’s your choice to stay at home, then great. You have weighed the options for yourself and your family, and presumably came to the conclusion that staying home was the best choice. It was not having a choice that was the problem that started the movement, I believe. In other words, it wasn’t the belief that every woman should be in the workplace with men, but rather the belief that women should be allowed to work on equal footing with men.

It’s tempting to see Bella in the role of a housewife, with all the unfortunate stigma attached to that role, but is that all she is? I think not. Remember, she is a full time student, and a good one. She is responsible about doing her homework. Charlie doesn’t have to pry here any more than he has to pry when it comes to housework. So, Bella is responsible and a self-starter. She does the housework and the cooking, in addition to keeping up on school work. If you allow for school being her job, she sounds more like a super-mom than a housewife to me. With the characteristics that she is already exhibiting, I could easily see her becoming a successful career woman. So, yes, I also agree that focusing on Bella’s domestic proclivities and trying to see any sort of anti-feminist agenda there is unnecessarily reductive.

From there, Benjamin, I have to say that I love that you ask more questions in this entry than you offer criticism. Might you actually be developing some genuine interest in the books? I think was my favorite part:

Regardless, there is something about Edward that causes Bella to open up to him in a way she has not done so with other characters so far, including her father. And still, at the end of the chapter, Edward appears almost menacing, watching Bella as she leaves the parking lot. What’s going on with this dude?

So, what do you think is going on with this dude? Are you relating to him more than you are relating to Bella? Do you find yourself obsessing just a little bit? Do your thoughts stray to the book when you are performing other tasks? I relate to Bella, very highly. When I first started reading the books, I found myself obsessing about Edward. Sure, he’s beautiful and he’s a vampire (I love vampires), but I think it was more than that. Bella is obsessing about Edward. I think that aspect of the writing caused me to obsess too, because I related to Bella so highly. Oh to be reading Twilight for the first time again!

This squares with the idea of the noble sacrifice Meyer opens the book with. And while there is something noble about this, I worry that Bella may too easily give up what she wants in service of what others want. It will make her vulnerable, but it will also make her hungry for any amount of happiness she’ll be able to get while in Forks.

Aww, you’re worried about Bella. Unicorn. 🙂

My guess, she’s going to fall for Edward pretty soon. I think Edward will be a supply of attention for Bella that she’s not comfortable asking for. This has potential mutual obsession written all over it. Guess I’ll have read on to find out.

Yep. And it doesn’t even sound like you mind. Your first entries sounded like reading this pained you just a bit. My hope is that it is becoming enjoyable for you, and it sounds like it might be.

Until Chapter 3…

April 30, 2009 - Posted by | Bella Swan, Stephenie Meyer, Twi-blogs, Twilight, Uncategorized | , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. This part, right here:

    “Personally, I think the feminist movement is about having choices, options. If it’s your choice to stay at home, then great. You have weighed the options for yourself and your family, and presumably came to the conclusion that staying home was the best choice. It was not having a choice that was the problem that started the movement, I believe. In other words, it wasn’t the belief that every woman should be in the workplace with men, but rather the belief that women should be allowed to work on equal footing with men.”

    made me say, “THANK YOU!” out loud. So many people just do NOT get this! I personally think being a stay at home parent is one of the hardest jobs a person can do, and choosing to do this doesn’t make a woman any “less” than a woman who chooses to be a C.E.O or lawyer or whatever.

    Comment by Whitley | May 8, 2009 | Reply

  2. You’re welcome, and thank you!

    Comment by '86 Rabbit | May 10, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

