'86 Rabbit

A FANGirl's Forkstress of Solitude

Feminist Male College Graduate: Chapter 3

My friend Benjamin Wheeler has been busy. He’s read Chapters 3 & 4 of Twilight while I was off gaming this weekend. I’ll try to catch up as succinctly as possible.

Part of the reason I wanted to read this book was to see if my perspective as a man would offer a different reading than the women I’ve spoken with who’ve read the book have had.

Part of the reason? What were you other reasons? Just curious. Are you a vampire fan? Is it because everyone’s reading it and you want to see what the fuss is about? Is it because everyone’s reading it and you don’t want to be left out? Did your girl say, “Twilight has changed my life forever and you will never understand me again if you don’t read it.”? Again, just curious. My Twi-friends and I have been wondering what goes into the creation of a Unicorn. Many would love to turn their husbands and boyfriends.

Now, I’m still very early in the book, but I’m finding myself actually liking Bella, both as a character and as a narrator, but, oh God, I cannot stand this Edward guy.

Good, I’m glad you’re liking Bella more. I’m reading The Dresden Files right now. I’m on Book 4 and have decided I don’t like Dresden very much. These books are also told in the first person. It’s miserable being in the head of someone you don’t really like. Thank goodness a new Sookie Stackhouse book comes out Tuesday, and I can go to my safe place. As for Edward, I can’t help you out there. I imagine you love him at times, hate him at others. Well, really all the characters try you patience at times. They’re really wonderfully flawed, the lot of them.

And in the face of Edward’s practiced deception, Bella, bless her, is firm and assertive. “‘No.’ I set my jaw” (58).

I think I might just quote this simple little line every time I read on someone’s blog about how weak Bella is. Yes, I wrote a whole article on the subject, but just really sums Bella’s strength up nicely.

While Bella thinks that she’s fine and does not need the medical attention, Edward betrays that desire. As a result, Bella, who apparently did not need the attention, is humiliated in front of the attentive school.

Yeah, Edward’s protective side can be a little embarrassing at times, but better safe than sorry. Later, when things become clearer between Bella and Edward for the reader, this scene takes on new meaning, especially if you follow Twilight up with the unfinished Midnight Sun, which you can read at www.stepheniemeyer.com. In for a penny, in for a pound, right?

Now, rather than just a hot brooding bad boy, Edward is a hot brooding bad boy with unexplained supernatural powers of awesomeness.

LOL! As if the bad boys didn’t get enough attention from the ladies, right? This is why there are t-shirts that say Team Jacob on the front and Because Edward Stole My Wife’s Heart on the back.

Oh god, not another forbidden love story—that “forbidden fruit” on the book cover is starting to make sense.

Sorry. Wish I could tell you it’s not a forbidden love story. The Apple really does say it all.

Best Use of a Convoluted and Non-Sensical Simile: “It was like trying to stare down a destroying angel” (65).

Non-sensical it may be, but I rather like the imagery. I think it’s another good description of Bella’s strength.

May 3, 2009 - Posted by | Bella Swan, Edward Cullen, Essays, Midnight Sun, Stephenie Meyer, Twi-blogs, Twilight | , , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Thanks 86. As always, it’s fun to hear your thoughts on mine.

    Just a minor thing–if you’re going to directly quote something from my blog, I’d appreciate you dropping in a hyperlink so people can link to the whole thing. It doesn’t seem that you’re taking things I’ve said out of context, but I’d like for people have a chance to get my thoughts unfiltered if they so choose.

    Cheers. Hope your gaming weekend was restorative and nerd-tacular.

    Comment by benjaminwheeler | May 3, 2009 | Reply

  2. Oops! I had a link that I inadvertently edited out. Thanks for catching that. Let me know if I drop any others.

    Gaming was a real geek-fest as per usual, thanks for asking.

    Comment by '86 Rabbit | May 3, 2009 | Reply

  3. Well, as “[his] girl,” (though, I prefer woman, and without the possessive) I can’t say I deserve any real credit there. He had the intention of reading it first, but I got to it before he did and suggested he start after I had finished. Can’t say that it opened my soul or that a greater understanding of our relationship would come from him reading it, though; my reaction was almost entirely negative. Our relationship ultimatum was “The Godfather.”

    I’ve enjoyed reading your posts along with Ben’s, though. Very fun.

    Also-Gaming? Good choice.

    Comment by katrinafloyd | May 4, 2009 | Reply

  4. Welcome, Katrina! Thanks for taking the time to comment.

    I’ve never tandem blogged before. I thought it would be a fun experiment. We’ll see if I can keep up, or if Benjamin will continue to blog chapter by chapter. I see we’re both getting hits from each other’s blog, so that in itself is a success.

    I love that The Godfather was your relationship ultimatum. LOL!

    Gaming! I couldn’t live without gaming. Board games and the people I play them with have been my salvation.

    Comment by '86 Rabbit | May 4, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

