'86 Rabbit

A FANGirl's Forkstress of Solitude

Feminist Male College Graduate: Chapter 4

Chapter 4, Invitations, is next up on Benjamin Wheeler’s blog. It was a short post, but I think I might have quite a bit to say. We’ll see. Don’t forget to read Benjamin’s blog. It’ll make much more sense in context.

Ah, yes, reading this chapter reminded me once again how thoroughly I do not miss high school at all. Bella, Jessica, Mike, and whoever else are all worried and working out who’s going to the dance with whom, and, seriously, I don’t care.

This is something that I really like about Stephenie Meyer’s writing. I’ve heard a lot of complaints about the everyday, mundane things that she writes about, and that she should just get to whatever it is she’s trying to say. I think what she’s trying to say, is that aside from this vampire thing, Bella’s life is pretty dang normal. She does dishes. She does homework. She goes to school. She worries about being normal, and about being asked to dances. Items like this made me squirm too. I would not go back to high school for anything, and I loved it at the time!

She becomes aware that “[she] coulnd’t allow him to have this level of influence over [her]. It was pathetic. More than pathetic, it was unhealthy” (74). And yet the infatuation persists.

This is another quote I’d like to keep around for future conversations with people. There is a lot of talk out there about how Twilight is full of bad role models, and Bella is one of them. The people in this camp say that it’s not healthy for our girls to look up to Bella, who is obsessed with someone she shouldn’t be with. Bella freely admits that. I think the question isn’t whether we should be letter our girls read Twilight. I think the question is whether or not we should be supervising what our children read every bit as much as we supervise their time on the internet, and whether we could be using literary figures to help our children learn right from wrong. Besides, if you don’t want your kids to be reading Twilight for these reasons, you can pretty much rule out Shakespeare.

More instances of Edward messing Bella’s head, when he suddenly appears next to her in the parking lot, he remarks, “‘Bella, it’s not my fault you are exceptionally unobservant”‘(81). No, but it Iis your fault you’re a manipulative, brooding asshole. Just when I think he can’t get any worse, he pulls out a line like “‘Bella, you are utterly absurd” (82) and I seriously consider poking holes in the pages just hoping that he’ll feel at least some of the residual pain. I don’t think I’ve actively disliked a character this much since Dolores Umbridge in Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix.

So many LOLs here, sir. Yes, Edward is very frustrating. I understood why, when reading it the first time, but still. I wanted to have a serious conversation with him about manners. I think your poking holes in the pages solution would have worked better.

Let me tell you about my dislike of Dolores Umbridge. She made me slam my book closed several times. Each time I would scream, “Ooh! That woman!” and storm out of the room, as if leaving the book would somehow teach her a lesson. I couldn’t bring myself to punish Edward that way. I loved him from page 12, or whatever page he turned up on. I picked him out of that group of beautiful vampires, just like Bella did.

I hope in the coming chapter I get something that helps me understand the apparent fascination and obsession that so many young readers feel for this character, but, for now, I kinda want him to die in a fire.

More LOLs here. Die in a fire! I promise you’ll understand the fascination and obsession. I can’t promise you’ll like what you see, but I think you’ll understand.

May 3, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. I got a good chuckle from “die in a fire” too! That’s too funny.

    I agree with you, I loved Edward from the first time we meet him. I suppose the moment described above didn’t frustrate me because I knew that he was more than half in love with her already and he just didn’t realize it yet. It was frustrating for him, so I totally understood why he was acting like that.

    Comment by Whitley | May 8, 2009 | Reply

  2. I was pretty sure he was at war with himself, wanting to be with Bella but knowing it’s a bad idea. I was pretty sure he was frustrated with himself for not being able to leave her be. But, like I said, I wanted to talk to Edward about manners. 🙂

    Comment by '86 Rabbit | May 10, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

