'86 Rabbit

A FANGirl's Forkstress of Solitude

Ryan Reynolds as Garrett

I love Ryan Reynolds. I love Garrett. I don’t see the two of them together. Ryan Reynolds is always so…Ryan Reynolds. He’s like Jack Nicholson. He’s great on screen, thoroughly enjoyable and believable, but you tend to see him rather than the character. After the movie you refer to all the other characters by name, but you say, “And then Ryan Reynolds’ character said…” I need someone who can delivery the ‘Braveheart’ speech in character, not as himself. How about Henry Cavill? He was Stephenie Meyer’s pick for Edward once upon a time. It would be nice if he could get into the saga.

 (From IMDB)

May 8, 2009 - Posted by | Actors, Breaking Dawn, Stephenie Meyer, Twi-Media | , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. I’m in total agreement with you here – I think I am going to have a tough time not thinking about Dakota Fanning the actress (and I think she’ll be a great Jane) but I know I would just be distracted by seeing Ryan Reynolds in this movie. There are a lot of other great choices out there, and Henry Cavill would be a better pick along those lines! Or what was the name of the French actor who some people really wanted as Edward? Maybe wouldn’t make a good Garrett, but could they please find a home for him in one of the movies? Because he was pretty awesome… : )

    Comment by Snarkier Than You | May 8, 2009 | Reply

  2. i think ryan reynolds comes off as too much of a smart ass (i’m thinking of his latest project, wolverine) and garrett struck me as thoughtful.

    Comment by Lan | May 11, 2009 | Reply

  3. Hi Lan. I agree. Smartass is Ryan’s schtick, and that’s exactly why I don’t see him playing the part. I too believe Garrett is the thoughful sort. His speach to the Volturi and their followers was very much like William Wallace in Braveheart, addressing his troops, as I referenced before. It had that same feeling to it for me. I just don’t see Ryan delivering it that way, so I would be distracted by his performance, I think.

    Thanks for dropping by!

    Comment by '86 Rabbit | May 11, 2009 | Reply

  4. i’m excited to see Ryan change his usual character. I just love Ryan Reynolds and love all his movies. The Proposal!!! so excited!

    Comment by movielver | June 16, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

